Internal Exiles

A fellow named John Whitehead, writing in Counterpunch.org, warns us that The Worst Is Yet to Come.  He adds a coda of complaints, which express exactly my own sentiments (with probably a greater degree of eloquence than I have to command):

So when I read about demonstrations breaking out in cities across the country and thousands taking to the streets to protest the threat of fascism from a Trump presidency, I have to wonder where were the concerns when access to Obama came easily to any special interest groups and donors willing and able to pay the admissions price?

When I see celebrities threatening to leave the country in droves, I have to ask myself, where was the outcry when the government’s efforts to transform local police into extensions of the military went into overdrive under the Obama administration?

When my newsfeed is overflowing with people wishing they could keep the Obamas in office because they are so cool, I shake my head in disgust over this “cool” president’s use of targeted drone strikes to assassinate American citizens without any due process.

Mr Whitehead, however, as is the way with posts on websites these days, does not address the way forward from this point of re-confirmation of corporate interests and power.  Since, from the point of view of real equality in this country, it didn’t matter a great deal whether Hillary Clinton or Donald Trump became the President-elect on 8 November last, we are not forwarding things by lamenting the loss of the office by a corporate war-monger over a potty-mouthed narcissist.

Let me say I will do what I can to promote the strengthening of the Green Party. And I say that with full knowledge of the Pacific Green Party’s rejection of my efforts to promote it heretofore.  The Cascadia Chapter is no longer listed as one of the chapters of the state party.

About M. Meo

Worked as translator, museum technician, truck lumper, lecture demonstrator, teacher (of English as a Second Language, science, math). Married for 25 years, 2 boys aged 18 & 16 (both on the Grant cross-country team). A couple of scholarly publications in the history of science. Two years in federal penitentiary, 1970/71, for refusing the draft.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

