Letter to a Friend in County Jail

A while back I used this blog to provide a prisoner’s account (one whom I had met personally in Multnomah County Jail and in whom I have confidence) of how he — given that he smokes cocaine or used to, and now smokes meth — was railroaded into state prison by a bogus claim that he was stalking a female prosecutor in the Park Blocks of Portland.

Now I will yield the floor to a letter I received while I was serving three months’ sentence on a bogus charge of having interfered with public transportation.

Sept 14th 2015

Dear Michael

Thank you so much for the letter.  It was interesting.  Unfortunately you were unable to read the great cartoons I enclosed in this card.  You would have enjoyed them, but as you know [they were] returned.  It sounds as tho life in jail leaves a lot to be desired!  Hopefully you will soon be out.

In fact I was released about a week after the receipt of this letter.  The writer continues immediately

Many of our friends would love to see you again.  On Sat[urday]  I had the usual summer party, and having you there would have added to our enjoyment.  It was the perfect day for an outdoor party.  Perfect weather!

Anna is something of a salon hostess, inviting a broad range of progressives to her house each year.  It’s quite an elaborate affair, and I’ve had the privilege of attending I think for three or four years straight.

She then closes.

I’ll close for now.  Stay well.

Your friend, Anna

I do not believe that you, dear reader, can imagine the delight with which I read and reread this while in county jail (and since!)

About M. Meo

Worked as translator, museum technician, truck lumper, lecture demonstrator, teacher (of English as a Second Language, science, math). Married for 25 years, 2 boys aged 18 & 16 (both on the Grant cross-country team). A couple of scholarly publications in the history of science. Two years in federal penitentiary, 1970/71, for refusing the draft.
This entry was posted in Friendship, Local government, Police, Spiritual life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

