I Get Nominated for Sainthood

The calling of the police by Anne Heimlich had nothing to do with my being an officer of the Party engaged, between two p.m. and six p.m., in tabling at Fred Meyer.

You Dear Reader remember Fred Meyer, don’t you? The Big Corporation, employing thousands, earning revenues of billions, that had me arrested last Thursday? Fred Meyer, which claims I am trespassing when, at 11:30 at night, I dared to walk across their parking lot in order to reach the U.S. mailbox.

There won’t be any response from the Fred Meyer people, remember, who called the police, on the issue causing the police to be called; after all, it is Fred Meyer’s contention that they do not have to tell me the name of the employee who orders me off their property, or provide any notice in writing why I cannot enter their property, abutting my own. The Big Corporation says — and the Fred Meyer employees have called the police some twenty or thirty times on Your Intrepid Reporter in the last two months — they do not have to share with me why I am excluded; only the fact of the exclusion.

No, the police being called by Anne Heimlich had nothing to do with the ongoing Fred-Meyer-Comes Down-Hard-On-Michael-Meo thing.

It had to do with me trying to put the trash around my garbage can away.

I was tabling Saturday, as I said a minute ago. I tabled for four hours. Alone. In the hot sun.

So anyway, while I was representing the Party to my considerable discomfort and inconvenience, I walked over to the land I own– the one-story cottage I own at 2925 Northeast Weidler — and put some of the bits of paper and other trash that accumulates on one’s parking strip, into the large blue rolling trash can provided by the City [Hooray for the progressiveness of the City of Portland; it pays for a trash can]. And as I picked stuff up, a car, driven by Anne Heimlich, kept its motor running as I stepped around it to pick stuff up.

Me: If you’re going to be awhile turn off the motor.

Anne Heimlich: [motor continues to run; no response]

Me: Turn off the motor. Turn off the motor. Turn off the motor.

Anne Heimlich: You can’t shout at me.

Me: Go!

[she drives away]

So Anne Heimlich called the police. We might ask, indeed it occurs to the mildly interested, Why would the Police Police Bureau send anyone out to investigate a report of a man raising his voice? Either we have become that militarized, or the Portland Police Bureau responded because it was — they had to know — Michael Meo again.

But let’s leave that question aside, Dear Reader. Uniformed Officer T. Marshall, Badge Number 51787 came out to 2925 Northeast Weidler around 5 o’clock. He interviewed me while I sat at my table, across the street.  I advised him he would not get any questions answered and why. He asked me if I had any questions. I wrote in my notebook,”asks me if I have any questions” and showed it to him.

You see, were I not to respond to him speaking to me, he could then say he was in doubt about my sanity.

Do not laugh. I spent three days in solitary confinement, naked except for a blanket, in Portland city jail, just this last February, because the uniformed deputies of Multnomah County Sheriff’s department decided that I needed to be put on Suicide Watch. That is, they didn’t like my attitude, but what could I do about it?

So although I am Constitutionally protected from answering, it is the much-ballyhooed “training” of the local minions of law enforcement which directs officers to ask questions. All of the officers I have met are irritated at the very least when Your Intrepid Reporter actually exercises the right to remain silent.  Usually I am placed under arrest in large measure for not answering questions.  An example would be, when I was arrested in January for interfering with the operation of the MAX train, for being on the MAX line when I had been excluded for 30 days more than 35 days before.

Call it the insanity of Life In These [militarist] Times.

Officer Marshall then left without arresting me. I continued tabling until six p.m. My son Michael Kepler passed by at five, after the police officer had gone, and I pointed out to him that at least once I have succeeded in sustaining a visit from the police, while tabling at Fred Meyer, without getting arrested. Which is of some note because the table, chairs, and corporeal body of Your Intrepid Reporter were all located on Fred Meyer property the entire time. You remember, the property that Michael Meo just last Thursday got arrested for stepping onto? That property.

Officer T. Marshall finding nothing amiss and me not in a mood to answer whether I had any questions left.

The police having come to the scene after half an hour’s wait was not enough for Anne Heimlich. I was still out there tabling in the hot sun, undeterred.

Can’t have that, can we?  So she next complained to the Pacific Green Party.

— from an 8 p.m. email by State Treasurer Pat Driscoll:

at about 4:30 p.m. today Anne stated she was near the Hollywood Fred Meyers in Portland where she had – in her words – a really unpleasant interaction with a man who was tabling there. She felt threatened by his alleged verbal abuse and called the police. A police officer eventually showed up and took a report.

You see how it is, Dear Reader, why I should be promoted to exalted spiritual status.  A car owner who is spewing fumes in my face while I am standing on the parking strip of my own property, trying to pick up trash, drives away following my telling her to shut off her motor.  She  um, felt threatened.  She called the police but what the hell the police don’t do anything except push paper nowadays.  So she is now complaining to the State Party, and the State Co-ordinating Committee of the Pacific Green Party is going to decide in their august opinion whether I ought to be reprimanded.  Really, we can’t have bicycle-riding members of the Party telling car-driving members of the Party to be polite, can we?

I have what you might call a modest proposal. Let’s kick everyone who feels insufficient love for the automobile out of the Green Party.  Starting with Your Intrepid Reporter.  That’ll solve the problem of overweening assholes like Ms Anne Heimlich.

About M. Meo

Worked as translator, museum technician, truck lumper, lecture demonstrator, teacher (of English as a Second Language, science, math). Married for 25 years, 2 boys aged 18 & 16 (both on the Grant cross-country team). A couple of scholarly publications in the history of science. Two years in federal penitentiary, 1970/71, for refusing the draft.
This entry was posted in Brian Willson, Elections, Fascism, Free Speech, Inequality, Local government, Pacific Green Party, Police, Spiritual life, U.S. Constitution. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

