I Admit It

Comet Lovejoy photographed by artist/astronomer Mark Seibold, passing apparently near a local Portland area mountain

Comet Lovejoy photographed by artist/astronomer Mark Seibold, passing apparently near a local Portland area mountain

There will be a vote in one week, on Thursday, 19 February; Commissioner Fritz made certain that a specific time was established — that is, 2:15 in the afternoon — for the upcoming vote at the last Joint Terrorism Task Force meeting of the City Council, on 5 February.

So, it is my prediction that at that meeting it is likely that the City Council will vote for a withdrawal from the Joint Terrorism Task Force.

It is a week away.

To be perfectly blunt, the votes of the members of the City Council are very little likely to be swayed even a little by the fact that my life might be threatened by a “join” vote. I myself in addressing them on the subject did not stoop to make such an irrelevant suggestion.

As for the question of police accountability in general, all of the people who agree with my views are telling me every day what a stupid thing this (admittedly painful, debilitating, and depressing) hunger strike is.

There’s really the only honest alternative left: I admit it, the hunger strike is no longer effective or meaningful; maybe it never was.

I will be at the JTTF vote next Thursday, and I hope to be able to host a celebratory meal at my place afterwards, prepared by Anna Faro (she who brought me tea on Christmas Day).

But I am eating garlic bread right now. And I just finished a bowl of vegetable soup.

About M. Meo

Worked as translator, museum technician, truck lumper, lecture demonstrator, teacher (of English as a Second Language, science, math). Married for 25 years, 2 boys aged 18 & 16 (both on the Grant cross-country team). A couple of scholarly publications in the history of science. Two years in federal penitentiary, 1970/71, for refusing the draft.
This entry was posted in Astronomy, Brian Willson, Cameron Whitten, Friendship, Gun Control, Local government, Mark Seibold, Pacific Green Party, Police, Scott Green, Seth Woolley, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

